No Promises

I don’t believe in rules and promises, nor contracts meant to hold us fast, coerce behavior into one ideal.

I believe in navigation by feel, by the seat of my pants and the pull in my guts.
Ask one question, and one question only: when I do this, how does it feel?
And if I answer with truth, if I am present with my self and my environment and the tending of my relationships,
Then the answers will reveal to me the path that I must walk and the life that I would live.

As the saying goes:

“Be careful what you wish for, for the universe conspires to fulfill your deepest desires.”

And I don’t mean to be fickle, but I can’t promise my future self will feel the way that I might feel now. I can only promise to feel my feelings at the time that I feel them, and to be honest with myself about my deepest desires.

And if you’ll do the same, promise to be true to your self and to feel all your feelings, and we speak our desires out loud,

Then perhaps we may journey together, weave a life made of freedom and truth, build realities on foundations of understanding, and of listening to the small quiet voices of our intuition.

Then perhaps we may braid our lives together, perhaps we may create something which is more than the sum of its parts.

Leave a Reply

