Lo Que Tu Haces, Será – Reprogramming Doris Day

Holy smokes, my mom was a dead ringer for Doris Day (which I only realized because I looked for pics of Doris to post with this re-write of one of her most iconic songs). Mom was a trendy lady. She may have been doing this on purpose.

Obviously, I need to develop a Doris Day impersonator act…

mom 4
My mom!
Doris Herself

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Que tu Haces, Será”

When I was just a little person
I asked my parents
What will I be
Will I be happy?
Will I be well?
Here’s what they said to me

Que tu haces, será
Whatever you do, will be
The future is yours to make
Que tu haces, será
What you do, will be

When I grew up into my self
I asked my sweetheart
What lies ahead?
Will we have rainbows,
Day after day?
Here’s what my sweetheart said

Que tu haces, será
Whatever we do, will be
The future is ours to make
Que tu haces, será
What you do, will be

[musical interlude]

Now I have Children of my own
They ask their parent
What lies ahead?
Will I be a fairy?
Will I be a unicorn?
I tell them tenderly,

Que tu haces, será
Whatever you do, will be
The future is yours to make
Que tu haces, será
What you do, will be

Que tu haces, sera!

 

Leave a Reply

